Review: Stockholm Delete, by Jens Lapidus

31379413[1]So far this year I’ve read 71 books. I don’t say that to boast, but rather to show that I’m a voracious reader, who doesn’t give up easily. I’ve been reading this book for two months, I’m barely halfway through it, and last night I gave up. Why? I really don’t know. All I can say is that for someone who should have knocked this book off in three nights, maybe four if I was dawdling, it’s taken me an unbelievable amount of time to make it halfway through the book.

It’s not badly written, but it’s complex, which usually isn’t a problem. However, the characters seem fairly dull to me, and I wasn’t able to remember clearly who they were or what they’d done from reading to reading. I get that certain genres emphasize plot over characterization, I’m a ghostwriter, I understand the restrictions. But it felt as if everyone had been sacrificed to the gods of plot, so that it felt as if everyone was the same, just moving through a complex puzzle, not really leaving much of an impression.

Maybe one day I’ll pick it up again and think, “Oooh, this is way better than I thought!” Or maybe I won’t. But right now, this is what I have to say about it.

Something to say?

