May Books

I’d been meaning to get back to blogging for a while now.  The flood of reviews from yesterday was a good start, but some other content might be a good idea.  Since my friend, Karen, has been keeping lists of the books she’s read by month, I’ve decided to do the same, just to see if there are patterns which emerge.  I’m doing the Goodreads Reading Challenge, so it’s reasonably simple to see what I finished and when.

19243883[1]

The book I enjoyed most this month.

Books I Read in May 2017

  1. Nights in Berlin – Janice Law
  2. Mad Country – Samrat Upadhyay
  3. Hidden Figures – Margot Lee Shetterly – Way better than the film, which I did love.
  4. The Punch Escrow – Tal M. Kline
  5. Neanderthal Man – Svante Pääbo
  6. The Bookshop on the Corner – Jenny Colgan
  7. The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman
  8. The Triumph of Seeds: How Grains, Nuts, Kernels, Pulses, and Pips Conquered the Plant Kingdom and Shaped Human History – Thor Hanson
  9. The Little French Bistro – Nina George
  10. The Love Interest – Cale Dietrich – Full disclosure, I read only as much as I could stomach, then complained to BOMC which offered me a credit.  Books I bail on with a clear understanding that I will never return to them, I consider about as read as they will ever be, and therefore I’ve included them in my total.  YMMV
  11. Dinner with Edward – Isabel Vincent
  12. The Bear and the Nightingale – Katherine Arden
  13. The Sparrow – Mary Doria Russel – A re-read.  I read it when it was first released and adored it.  This time around I saw creaky spots, but still loved it.
  14. Gifts of the Crow – John M. Marzluff – Another bail after about half a book filled with bad science writing and meaningless anecdotes.  This one was a bitter disappointment to me since I’ve been wanting to read it for a long while.
  15. 84 Charing Cross Road- Helene Hanff – I thought I’d read it ages ago, but I hadn’t.  I’d seen the film, which was charming.  The book is quite wonderful, too.  I wish there’d been more of it.
  16. Epitaph – Mary Doria Russell – The sequel to Doc, documenting the events leading up to one of the most iconic events in American Wild West legend, the gunfight at the O.K. corral, and the events that followed.  Doc Holliday is as alluring as ever, but the Earps are surprisingly lackluster. Not badly written, just not really interesting people. Being part of an American legend doesn’t guarantee that you’re particularly exciting on your own.
  17. Strange Practice – Vivian Shaw
  18. Map of Days – Robert Hunter
  19. The Third Man – Graham Greene – Another I thought I’d read, but hadn’t.  Fun, but not nearly as good as the film, in my opinion.

What does all this tell me?  That I need to get off my butt and review more of what I read.  That I’m doing really well after so many really fallow years.  That keeping an account of what I read is good for me.  And that I will probably never catch up to one of my Goodreads friends who has already read 199 books this year!

Something to say?

