Electrical banana Is bound to be the very next phase

You may remember from my last post that I was having problems with a blown circuit about ten days ago. well, Alex arrived the next day,  discovered that the breaker was loose, tightened it and left with all the lights back on.  Yay!  End of problem

Fast forward to yesterday morning.  I turn on the lamp beside my desk, there’s a loud pop and the circuit pops again.  So I text Charles again, (TGFC*) and he calls Alex who says he’ll call me as soon as he can.  In the interim, my friend Pam reiterates her offer to bring her husband — something of a genius with anything electrical, mechanical, or digital — over to fix the problem.  I really appreciate it but since I’d already paid Alex  to fix it, I figured I might as well get my money’s worth out of him.

Alex calls a bit past three, and shows up not too much later with his son.  He’s as confused as I am, and they run up and down the stairs a few times before he realizes that the problem is not with the breaker or even the outlet where the lamp is plugged, but with the overhead in the living room.  He shows me the wires which look like the insulation has been partly stripped off of them.  The result is that they occasionally touch each other.  This is Not Good.  This can cause all manner of trouble including horrible death, something I try very hard to avoid.

Fortunately it’s not a hard fix, and Alex’s son offers to clean the fan blades while they’re down, which makes me feel like a complete failure as a housekeeper.  Nevertheless I take him up on it.  I’m not proud.

They leave, I text Charles again, tell him all is well.  He phones to make extra sure.  TGFC.

Fast forward to about eleven last night.  ALL the lights dim including my laptop screen.  Twice.  Glinda texts me to ask if my lights dimmed.  I say yes, but that if it’s all the lights in the house it’s almost certainly an outside line.  I text it with authority.  I wish I actually believed it.

This morning everything went on and stayed on.  The house didn’t burn down or electrocute all of us.  I’m hoping this is the end of it, but with the Villa, you never know.

*New acronym: Thank God for Charles.   Please to be remembering it.

2 thoughts on “Electrical banana Is bound to be the very next phase

Something to say?

