Why you should never purchase property

When something goes wrong, you’re the one who has to fix it.  If you rent, you get your landlord to fix it.  Now I know that’s not an easy task in many cases but when you’re the property owner you have only yourself to blame.

Today, while I was working at the desk, I heard a loud popping coming from the area to the right of my desk, and the lamp on the table went out.  It freaked me out but I thought it was the (relatively) new LED bulb I’d put in the lamp.  I thought perhaps the way it was situated made the ballast heat up too much and blew the bulb out.  I unplugged it and left it alone for about half an hour.  Unfortunately when I got up to get a new bulb I discovered that there were lights out all over the house.  They’re mostly overheads in the kitchen and dining room, but there are two wall outlets out as well.  So I figured that it was a tripped circuit breaker.

I went downstairs and flipped the breaker, then went up and checked.  Sure enough the lights were back on.  I went to check the can lights in the kitchen and the breaker tripped again.  So I went back down, reset it and it tripped again immediately.  I’m not a total idiot.  I got the message.  The breaker went off and it’s staying off until I get this sorted out. I phoned Charles who was down in southern Illinois.  He’s going to phone Alex, the electrician for me and get him out here tomorrow.  Thank God for Charles.  (Didn’t I say I’d say that a lot here?)

Charles in my office
Thank God for Charles
 (Photo credit: Tracy Rowan)

So while I actually have no clue what the problem is, here are the possibilities as I see them:

  1. The LED bulb did, in fact, overheat, and it blew out the outlet it was plugged into, and probably the lamp as well.
  2. One of the ants who keep coming in here no matter what I do to discourage them, crawled into the outlet and fried it, and himself.
  3. It’s something else entirely.  Ghosts, demons… a rogue power surge that fried only one circuit in my house.
The possible outcomes:
  1. Alex finds the problem and fixes it.  I pay him and all is well.
  2. Alex finds the problem, it’s huge, he fixes it and I pay him a lot of money and have a nervous breakdown.
  3. Alex doesn’t find the right problem, fixes a different one, I pay him and we all die in the middle of the night when that kind of thing is most likely to happen.  I don’t know why this is, but it’s a law of awfulness.
  4. Rocks fall, everyone dies.  This at least eliminates the need to pay Alex.
Have you gathered yet that I’m an awfulizer?  I imagine all the worst possible scenarios so I can control the situation when the fact is that the situation can never be controlled.  And I’ve probably just disproved the title of this post because the only measure of control you have is being your own landlord.  Possibly Glinda is lucky to have a paranoid lunatic for a landlord.
And considering that we’ve had rain for days and it’s really cold out and we can’t do much in the garden, that is about all the news that’s coming out of the Villa right now.

2 thoughts on “Why you should never purchase property

Something to say?

