Spring means new life which is reason enough to enjoy the bejeebers out of it.

I was taking the garbage out and I ran into our neighbor, Grace (She of the best arroz con gandules ever.) so we talked garden stuff for a while.  Then when we parted ways, I walked the garden as I usually do when there’s not a lot of snow on the ground, or it’s not pissing down rain.  There’s a lot of life going on out there.  The bulbs, which we’d given up for lost last year after that horrific, hot winter we had, seem to be coming back nicely, though some have been frost-nipped.

At the base of the nectarine, the two roses, Mary and one mini we got from the Jewel, are getting ready to leaf out, and the hyacinths and daffs are making a good showing.  The red things are tomatoes.  I put them out for the bunnies and squirrels rather than throwing them away.

Then I walked around to look at the place where the bunny had been digging.  It’s all filled in with his floof.  Or maybe I should say her floof because I could see it moving.  I think we have baby bunnies in our raised bed.  I don’t think

Dawn’s entirely thrilled, but I figure the babies will leave soon enough, probably well before we can safely plant our tomatoes.  What makes me scratch my head is why she nested right on top of the garlic.  I thought they hate garlic.  Or maybe they just don’t eat it for fear of offending one another.  Who knew bunnies were so polite?  Next time I go out I think I’ll try making a video of the floof moving.

We’ll have to give Mom a name.  We name everything, why not a bunny who gave birth in our raised bed?

The grape hasn’t sprouted yet, though I seem to recall it took a long time last year, too.  And the Iceberg roses Kate, Victoria, and Fred are not showing much inclination to leaf, but I believe that was what happened last year.  Icebergs may be slow to bud in the spring.

Faith and Buffy, however, seem to be in a race.  Buffy is always one of the first to show growth in the spring, but even after having been transplanted, Faith is budding out like a mad thing.  She’s going to be huge.

After our trip to Meinke’s and Farmer’s Market, Glinda went online and researched David Austin roses.  We’ve decided we want one of each.  Yes, we’re going to be reenacting Briar Rose.

I know it seems as if we’re obsessed with our garden, but this is the time of year when it’s right to be obsessed with green, growing things and life reasserting itself.  In spite of warmer-than-usual winters recently, we still live in a place where the cold and bleakness of the season takes a toll on us.  Stepping outside on a warm day (It’s in the low 60s here today) and seeing the sun on a new patch of sweet woodruff, or discovering that the columbines reseeded themselves, the alpine strawberries are coming back when we never expected them to or the primroses weren’t winter-killed and are spreading… I can’t think of a better tonic.

Later in the year it’ll be hot and humid, and we’ll be tired, the garden will look tired, and we’ll be obsessing about other things.  But maybe one day I’ll look out the window and see something like this again, and it will all seem new even though I’ll be yelling “Hey you kids, quit eating my sweet potato vines!”

Something to say?

