Adventures in Bread Making, the sequel

Just FYI, the second loaf turned out very well, with a dense crumb and a good crust.  I finally saw a photo of what Ruhlman meant when he said how the dough should stretch, and I realized that I hadn’t kneaded it enough, in spite of it spending 20 quality minutes with a dough hook.  I suspect I’ll need to pull the dough out of the bowl and hand knead it for a few minutes to get it to where it should be.

Still, for the second attempt, it was pretty darn good.

And now I have to go and do some writing.  Consider yourselves updated.

Something to say?

