Everybody needs to shut up now.

I’ve often said that I have this cocktail party going on inside my head, and I catch bits and pieces of conversations that eventually turn into stories.  Or not.  Not every conversation is worth listening to just as not every guest is scintillating.  Recently I became aware of a story call that suggested to me that I might do well to unearth a little snippet that I’d stored away for future contemplation.  It was about The Furies.  What about them, you ask?  I have no idea.  No really, I just knew I wanted to do something with them.  I even have faces for them. I work better when I can link a face to a character, at least initially.  They do tend to morph. And in fact the basic idea was inspired by seeing this photo of Anna Torv.  This was my Alecto, my unceasing, and briefly, my Morrigan.  She may still be, I don’t know, but I realized suddenly that I’d gone too far afield of the parameters of the story call to use my Furies in the only way that was currently working for me.   I really did try to force them into the right shape briefly but they laughed at me and went on about their business.  I know what these women look like down to their tattoos and scars, but I cannot find them a place in the universe that I’ve been given to work with, i.e., Faery.

And then, while I was  trying to watch Labyrinth and failing miserably because I simply don’t care for the film very much, I happened to surf past Cabaret and thought: “But what if it was like Weimar Germany?”   It was at this point that my brain simply shut down because everyone had started talking at once, and spilling their drinks and elbowing each other out of the way to tell me their stories.

I don’t know if any of this is going to work, but I’m going to give it my best shot.  And maybe Alecto/Morrigan will make an appearance.  If she does, it’ll be memorable, that’s for sure.

Something to say?

