News of the Villa

Bilbo's Hobbit Hole and the Party Tree in the ...
Image by Stuck in Customs via Flickr

So yesterday I finished hanging the new balloon shades in my living room, and while I was getting them onto the rods, Pam called.  When I told her what I was doing she said “Be careful; you have to survive to see “The Hobbit.””  Like me she’d just seen Peter Jackson’s first video blog about the production.   We’d both just watched it, and had the same reaction: I can’t wait! I have to admit that seeing Rivendell again made me cry.  These films mean that much to me.

 

And the shades look good, too!  Once we got finished yammering about the vid, I went back to my task and eventually got all six up and looking good.  I’m quite happy with them, though they’re not as sheer as I first thought they were.  The room is now quite dark in the morning or on overcast days, but once the sun is out things brighten up.  The surprise is that it’s brighter in here at night.  The room light bounces off the glossy material instead of just fading out through the uncovered windows into the darkness.  The other thing I love about them.  (Photo is from Penney’s where I bought them, not my place.  I need to break out the camera as soon as I finish cleaning up and getting the art back on the walls.) The other things I love about these shades is that they really provide the old world, sort of belle epoque feeling I was going for.  And now I can type in my underwear if I want, and no one can see me.  (Okay yes, that’s a disturbing thought.  Let’s move on.)

I finally did something I’ve been meaning to do for ages, I seasoned my old cast iron frying pans.  Mom used them occasionally, but she was a neatnik, and scrubbed them after each use, so they never developed the non-stick surface they ought to have had.  I just rubbed down the interiors with peanut oil and baked them at 400 degrees for a couple of hours.  I’ve had eggs twice in the last few days and they actually slid around in the pan!  I’ve never had a so-called “non-stick” surface do that, not even when it was brand new.  You can’t beat cast iron for holding heat either.

No, I’m not writing.  I wish I was, but I’m not.  I’ve done a bit of a rewrite on the sequel to Suffer, but it’s a slog.  Much as I’m enjoying doing household stuff, I need to get back to the business at hand.  I’ve got jobs coming up at the end of April and beginning of May, and won’t be able to write.  What do you want to bet that’s when I’ll have some great ideas?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Something to say?

