NaNoWriMo, I have defeated thee yet again!

2003_1224_203821AA
Image by dargie via Flickr

Yeah. I finished NaNoWriMo around midnight last night, and then stared blankly into space for a while. The MS is just a hair over 50,000 words, and probably a mess,  but that can be taken care of later. What counts is that I found the discipline and stamina to do it again this year, and that means a lot.  I don’t know if I can ever explain how much that means to me because it would require a long story about how I never finish anything, blahblahblah.

I didn’t even vege today either, though I didn’t accomplish a lot.  Glinda and I talked about the next novel in the series for a while (Nick and Davy meet Dracula and Jack the Ripper.)  I get ideas, she asks questions, I think “Oh, I hadn’t thought about that.” and then go on to think about it. Then we put some Christmas lights up in the front and discovered that we don’t have nearly enough, so it’s back to Home Despot over the weekend.  And I made myself an Amazon.com author page. I did think — briefly — that it was too early, but I actually have two titles up there, so I saw no reason why I shouldn’t promote myself a bit. Cherry On Top and Waiting for the Moon are both up there, and I hope to have more soon. Why not get started early?

Thanksgiving weekend was pretty terrific. Glinda’s sister, Laurie was here for Thanksgiving dinner. On Friday the Salvation Army came and took a load of stuff from my garage, and I’m way less broken up about it than I thought I would be considering that I hadn’t even really gone through all the boxes.  They’d been out there for 2.5 years and I didn’t care enough to bother so why should I have kept them? On Saturday Jim came in and we went shopping at Dom ITP, a Polish store that is irresistible around the holidays, and an Eastern European market that was right around the corner.  Jim and Dawn went to see “The Deathly Hallows” but I stayed home because my knee and back were killing me and I knew I’d be fidgeting through the whole thing. Besides, I’m not as enamored of the Harry Potter franchise as I used to be so waiting to see it isn’t a hardship. Then we went to a new restaurant for supper, a Bohemian-Polish place where we got platters of food for almost no money.  I don’t know why they weren’t jammed; they should be turning people away at the door the way Edelweiss is, and honestly, the only difference I can see is that the ambiance at this place is almost non-existent. It’s a lot unlike some restaurants my folks loved when I was a kid (any Chicagoans out there remember Pavelka’s in Irving Park?) nothing to look at but good food at incredibly reasonable prices. Reviews were written for Yelp.

And now I’m kind of wiped in spite of having done next to nothing all day, and I really would like to read for a while.  I’m in the middle of The Girl Who Played with Fire and loving it even more than The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.  Mostly I thought I’d catch up since I’ve been kind of quiet since NaNo started. Maybe sometime before Christmas I’ll stop feeling as if someone has stewed my brain like a big prune.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Something to say?

