NaNoWriMo, coming soon to a writer near you!

So yeah, I’m heading down the NaNo path once more.  This’ll be year five for me.  I’ve learned that if I don’t have some kind of plan, I’ll end up on November 15th wringing my hands and gibbering over the hellish mess of a story I’ve produced.  So I’ve got an outline that’s about 1/3rd finished.  It gets to header 7 and says “Then more stuff happens.  The end.” which isn’t a terribly good plan, but it’s improving.

Charles Darwin. 1 negative : glass ; 5 x 7 in....
Image via Wikipedia

I also have a title: A Mere Heart of Stone.  It comes from a quote by Charles Darwin:  “A scientific man ought to have no wishes, no affections, – a mere heart of stone.”  Yes, Darwin does enter into the story.  I have my friend, Jim, to thank for the original idea.  I needed a flashback for my first Nick & Davy novel (Being pubbed by Torquere Press in January) and he offered an excellent plot.  Unfortunately even stripped down to bare bones it was a big narrative and brought the novel grinding to a halt, so I cut it.  When I went looking for a plot for the second N&D novel, there it was, and I’ve been banging away at it ever since, getting it to the point where I feel comfortable choosing it for this year’s NaNoWriMo.

So now I’ve eaten my supper (a BLT, yum!) and I’m running the dishwasher.  I think it’s time to sign off and go read for a while.  I’m reading Niven and Pournelle‘s “Inferno” which I think I read 30-odd years ago, it’s that familiar.  And it’s wonderful.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Something to say?

