What’s up in Blogville today

I don’t read as many blogs as I used to; there are only so many hours in the day.  And my focus has changed somewhat.  I cut out most of the design blogs and a big portion of the arts and crafts blogs I used to read, but added in a number of literary ones.  One of the latter, Dean Wesley Smith, posted a link to a very interesting post by J. Steven York on what writers really need.  He covers the things that publishers offer and asks: Do we need these things?  Can we get them on our own? Do we even want them?  Worth a look for any writer.

"Miller Updegraff's "The Enigma of Kasper Hauser" (2010)"

Chez Namaste Nancy checks in today with a post about an exhibit at the Berkeley Art Museum entitled “Hauntology.”  What is Hauntology?  Check out Nancy’s blog to find out, and to appreciate some of the pieces included in the exhibit as well as Nancy’s always interesting and  perceptive writing.

Finally, a perennial favorite, Paris Parfait, posts from Delft in the Netherlands with a photo essay on Delft blue and how it shows up everywhere in the city.  I love Tara’s photo essays, and this one is particularly lovely.  I leave you with one of her jolly images:

Bicycle handpainted in the traditional Delft blue.

"Bicycle handpainted in the traditional Delft blue."

One thought on “What’s up in Blogville today

  1. Thanks for the link – I appreciate it. I had the hardest time writing about this show. I liked a few of the pieces but the philosophy drivel made me go MEH! Still, I hate to pan a show completely so I tried writing around it.

    Like

Something to say?

