Go me, go me, go me…

It has been a long time since I built a website.  When I say that I was building them back in the 80s when all of this was really new, some of you may grok what I mean when I say that things have changed.  A whole freakin’ lot.  So after bashing around with free web design software and producing one boring site and one that was incredibly cheesy, I finally downloaded CoffeeCup Visual Site Designer, which at first made me want to put my fist through the screen.  But it’s frequently that way with new software, so I know to push on past the this-thing-is-stupid-and-useless-and-I-hate-it reaction.  And lo, it was good.  I’ve got a brand new look to the site which I like very much, and I’m actually starting to understand the program.

Quel horreur!Apart from all that, I’ve been working on a short story for a charity anthology.  Today was the deadline and I got it in late last night.  Now I wait to see if they want it.  My next project is to brush up two m/f romances to submit to a publisher and finish the novel I wrote during last year’s NaNoWriMo.    And then it’s down to doing an outline for this year’s NaNo.  Work, work, work.  Slaving away over a hot computer day and night.  Oh the unspeakable horror of the writer’s life.  (Image is from “The Unstrung Harp” by Edward Gorey, possibly the finest book about writing ever written.)

On Saturday Glinda and I went to visit an elderly neighbor.  Her niece and brother-in-law are on vacation until the beginning of the week, so we though it would be good to look in on her.  We brought her fruit on Wednesday and on Saturday a book.  She seemed happy to see us and we agreed that we need to go visit her from time to time even when her family comes home.  Later we took a walk around the block, watched Eureka and had Italian beef for supper.

Today, brunch with Jim, Pam and Chris at Patty’s Diner (Yum!) a lot of shopping and supper on the terrace.  Generally, a nice day.  I ended up with two jars of jalapeno-stuffed olives from Cost Plus, which are easily the best jalapeno-stuffed olives ever, a new bracelet and a couple of really bright throw pillows for the living room.

Unfortunately Glinda came home to a phone message that her brother is not doing well, so she and her sisters are going out to be with him now.  I’ll be taking care of the kitties (Glinda’s and her sister’s) for a few days.  That should be… um, interesting.

One of Mr. Earbrass's better days.

5 thoughts on “Go me, go me, go me…

  1. Re: “which at first made me want to put my fist through the screen” – I have often lamented the passing of the CRT. Yeah, they were bulky and good for little more than heating small spaces…but those suckers could sure take a punch. Believe it.

    Re: Anything Gorey – Huzzah!

    Um…that’s all I’ve got for now. Cheers!

    Like

  2. This is a wonderful post and may be one that should be followed up to see what the results are

    A chum e-mailed this link the other day and I’m excitedly looking your next content. Carry on on the first class work.

    Like

Something to say?

