I thought computers were supposed to save time.

Seriously, I’m sitting here copying all 87 CDs of the complete works of Beethoven to iTunes, and from there I will sync them onto my iPod.  Earlier today I did the entire collection of remastered Beatles albums.  My computer feels like it’s been baked.  It runs way too hot for my liking.  I’m also busy downloading podcasts and iTunes U programs from the iTunes store.  There’s an amazing number of free podcasts and programs including a metric fucktonne of things from NPR including “Wait, Wait Don’t Tell Me” which I got hooked on by spending Saturday mornings with Jim.  Now I listen to them before I go to sleep each night.  There’s nothing like falling asleep after a good laugh.  I also downloaded a beginning course in French because I’ve lost so much that I feel as if I want to refresh what I know.  Or should know.

Dawn’s been sick all weekend, and now my throat and ear are starting to hurt which makes me uneasy.  I don’t want to be sick.  I can’t afford to be.  I have too much to do this week including getting my tax stuff to my accountant, having the roof fixed and doing some more writing.  I started a story tonight which doesn’t even have a title.  All I can tell you is that it’s a vampire story.

I am really, really tired suddenly.  I think I’m gonna let the d/ls finish and hit the sack.

2 thoughts on “I thought computers were supposed to save time.

  1. I love “Wait, wait dont tell me” and listen to that and “A way with words” regularly. NPR has become my go to station when I drive around Indianapolis, all the other stations have gone Clear Channel and therefore run about 40 minutes of commercials an hour.

    Might watch the computer running hot, that can seriously shorten the lifespan of a computer. If need be I can point to some decent and sort of cheap cooling solutions on NewEgg.com or other sites 🙂

    Like

  2. I really do think I’m going to opt for a new laptop, Bill. I want to get rid of my desktop where I do image editing, and in addition to running hot (and often quite slow) this thing seizes up if I ask it to resize a photo. I have my eye on a Toshiba with adequate resources to do some basic image editing along with the other stuff I do. Much depends on the price of the roof.

    Like

Something to say?

