What to do when you don’t want to do what you should be doing

Or how I managed to talk myself out of finishing the filing.
Soy silk  roving

Soy silk  roving

The top photos are soy silk roving. It’s really quite lovely and soft, but it’s also thin and flyaway, and quite slick. I’ve had a bag of it for several years, and apart from using it in an altered book, I’ve done nothing with it except wonder what I could do with it.

When I discovered felting I wondered if it could be felted. The photos show a piece of roving that has been vigorously poked with a felting needle for several minutes, so clearly the answer is pretty much “no” which didn’t really surprise me.

Felting experiments

Enter the idea of bonding it to other fibers with a felting needle. I grabbed a piece of crochet work that I’d abandoned and went to work. A few minutes later I realized that it was forming a bond with the crocheted piece even though the yarn I’d been using was mostly synthetic. I suspect that it’d work well as a part of a scrumbled piece of fiber work if nothing else.

Finally I did what most other people would have done to start with, I laid it over some wool roving and felted feverishly. While it took a bit longer than I expected, it did make a pretty well bonded piece of felt. It’s not what I’d call pretty, but you get the idea. I think the soy silk is going to work out nicely.

Button Bracelet

At bottom here is a photo of a crocheted bracelet I made yesterday. I love working with crochet nylon in spite of how rough it is on my hands. It works up into a glossy, old-fashioned-looking piece of work, and the addition of some vintage buttons and a piece of copper-colored cord kind of works for me.

I’m currently working on a white version, and I want to do one in thinner, ecru crochet cotton.

I was laying out pieces of broken glass on a wooden background this morning, thinking about mosaics (A friend sent me a couple of good links this morning.) and I started wondering if it would be workable to space the pieces more widely than is commonly done, over a base design, and instead of grouting in the usual way, using some sort of resin as grout. You’d get the base design through the resin, and also through some of the glass, and you’d get an awful lot of light coming through.

Does this make any sense to anyone?

Something to say?

